Litter compatibility matrix
Each cell reflects what the manufacturer actually writes. Nothing here is inferred from particle size, from a similar model, or from what a retailer claims. Where the manual and the product page disagree, the manual controls and the disagreement is recorded.
Clumping clay →
21 supported0 with conditions3 excluded20 not stated
Tofu →
5 supported4 with conditions11 excluded24 not stated
Mixed
6 supported4 with conditions4 excluded30 not stated
Crystal
3 supported6 with conditions6 excluded29 not stated
Pine pellet
0 supported2 with conditions13 excluded29 not stated
Other pellet
0 supported4 with conditions14 excluded26 not stated
Supported Supported with conditions Not supported / not recommended Manufacturer does not state
| Product | Clumping clay | Tofu | Mixed | Crystal | Pine pellet | Other pellet |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Amazon Basics Automatic Self-Cleaning Litter Box (SMARTO M500)Quoted evidenceNo manufacturer specification page exists for this product; no litter compatibility statement located. Retailer-declared | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state |
BISSELL CleanWell 4393Quoted evidenceNo litter compatibility statement published on the manufacturer product page. Manufacturer | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state |
CATLINK Scooper Open-XQuoted evidence'Compatible with any clumping cat litter' — blanket claim, no exclusions or particle limit published for this model. Retailer-declared | YesSupported | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state |
CATLINK Scooper Young Pro-XQuoted evidenceSmall-particle clumping litters; particles must pass the sift filter. Explicitly not recommended: pure tofu and long-strip tofu. Excluded: strictly absorbent, non-clumping, loose-clumping, newspaper-based, wood pellets. Manufacturer | YesSupported | Not rec.Not recommended by manufacturer | Cond.Supported with conditions | —Manufacturer does not state | NoNot supported | NoNot supported |
Casa Leo Leo's Loo TooQuoted evidenceMANUAL: 'Use only clay clumping cat litter that absorbs moisture.' Manual also instructs adding 4.5-5.5 kg of litter and not filling beyond the indicator sticker. Manual | YesSupported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported |
CatGenie CatGenie A.I.Quoted evidence'NEVER use cat litter in the CatGenie.' Requires proprietary Washable Granules only. Manufacturer | NoNot supported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported |
HHOLOVE Automatic Litter Box Pro (60 L)Quoted evidenceNo litter compatibility statement published on the manufacturer product page. Manufacturer | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state |
HomerunPet CS106Quoted evidenceCompatible: clumping clay, tofu, cassava, cassava-tofu mix, tofu-bentonite mix. Two filter types supplied (large-pore and small-pore). No exclusion list and no numeric particle limit published. Manufacturer | YesSupported | YesSupported | YesSupported | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state |
Neakasa M1 PlusQuoted evidenceRecommends fast-clumping scoopable bentonite/mineral litter. Excludes highly absorbent, non-clumping, loosely clumping, newspaper and wood pellet litters. Particle limit: up to 3 mm diameter and 10 mm length — tofu/mixed only qualify if within that limit. Manufacturer | YesSupported | Cond.Supported with conditions | Cond.Supported with conditions | NoNot supported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported |
Neakasa M1 Plus LiteQuoted evidenceManufacturer page compares M1 and M1 Lite in FAQ only; no separate Lite specification block published. Manufacturer | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state |
| PETKIT Pura X | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state |
PETKIT PuraMax 2 (P9902)Quoted evidenceMANUAL: 'Do not use large particles of cat litter larger than 1.2 cm in length and 3 mm in diameter.' 'The standard litter sitter is suitable for tofu cat litter and mixed cat litter; the honeycomb fine litter sitter is suitable for mineral cat litter.' Manual | YesSupported | Cond.Supported with conditions | Cond.Supported with conditions | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | Cond.Supported with conditions |
PETKIT Purobot Max 3 (P9906)Quoted evidence'99% of clumping litters including clay, tofu, corn, bentonite'. Crystal only via a separate Crystal Duo model. No particle limit published for this model. Manufacturer | YesSupported | YesSupported | YesSupported | NoNot supported | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state |
PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2Quoted evidenceMANUAL: 'The size of cat litter should not exceed 12 mm (0.47 in) in length and 3 mm (0.12 in) in diameter.' A dedicated litter sitter is described as 'exclusive for tofu cat litter and mixed cat litter'. Manual | YesSupported | Cond.Supported with conditions | YesSupported | —Manufacturer does not state | NoNot supported | Cond.Supported with conditions |
PETKIT Purobot Ultra (P9903)Quoted evidenceMANUAL: two litter sitters supplied - P99031 'suitable for tofu cat litter and mixed cat litter'; P99032 'suitable for fine granular cat litter such as mineral cat litter and bentonite'. Product page publishes a particle limit of length <=12 mm, diameter <=3 mm. Manual | YesSupported | YesSupported | YesSupported | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | Cond.Supported with conditions |
PETLIBRO LumaQuoted evidenceCompatible: 'clumping, tofu, and mixed litters'. Excluded: 'non-clumping (crystal, pine) or ultra-fine litters (grass seed, cassava)'. Manufacturer | YesSupported | YesSupported | YesSupported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported |
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal ClassicQuoted evidenceSame ScoopFree crystal-tray architecture as Crystal Pro. Retailer-declared | NoNot supported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported | YesSupported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported |
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal ProQuoted evidenceSystem is designed around PetSafe ScoopFree disposable/reusable crystal litter trays; the rake mechanism is specified for crystal litter. Retailer-declared | NoNot supported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported | YesSupported | NoNot supported | NoNot supported |
PetSafe ScoopFree OpenSkyQuoted evidenceMANUAL (outranks the product page's 'most clumping litter types'): 'Litter with larger pellets, such as pine or tofu litter, may not be compatible with the litter box.' Manual | YesSupported | Not rec.Not recommended by manufacturer | —Manufacturer does not state | NoNot supported | Not rec.Not recommended by manufacturer | Not rec.Not recommended by manufacturer |
PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpinQuoted evidenceMANUAL (outranks the product page's blanket 'compatible with any litter'): 'Litter with larger pellets, such as tofu litter, may not be compatible with the litter box.' Litter must not be filled beyond the MAX fill line. Manual | YesSupported | Not rec.Not recommended by manufacturer | —Manufacturer does not state | Cond.Supported with conditions | —Manufacturer does not state | Not rec.Not recommended by manufacturer |
PetSnowy SNOW+Quoted evidenceCompatible: 'all clumping litter (preferably clay), tofu, pine, and crystal litter'. Excluded: non-clumping, newspaper-based, absorbent wood pellet litter, absorption-only designs. NOTE: 'pine' is listed as compatible while 'absorbent wood pellet' is excluded — the manufacturer does not reconcile these. Manufacturer | YesSupported | YesSupported | YesSupported | YesSupported | Cond.Supported with conditions | NoNot supported |
Petcove PurrTek MaxQuoted evidence'Works with any clumping litter' (brand shop copy). A sibling model, PurrTek Light, states quick-clumping bentonite clay only, no pellets/crystals — the brand's statements are not consistent across models. Retailer-declared | YesSupported | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state |
Popur X5Quoted evidence'Most clumping cat litter will work'; low-dust, lightweight, fast-absorbing, hard-clumping preferred. PrettyLitter crystals work; powder-like or small-particle crystal is fine; marble-like crystal is incompatible. Pellets: 3 mm or less diameter, 20 mm or less average length. Litter capacity 7-12 L. Manufacturer | YesSupported | Cond.Supported with conditions | Cond.Supported with conditions | Cond.Supported with conditions | Cond.Supported with conditions | Cond.Supported with conditions |
Whisker Litter-Robot 3 ConnectQuoted evidence'Works with almost any clumping litter' (marketplace listing title, not a manufacturer spec page) Retailer-declared | YesSupported | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state |
Whisker Litter-Robot 4Quoted evidenceMANUAL (outranks product page): 'Never put anything in the unit other than clumping litter or litter beads and crystals that are small enough to pass through the screen.' Translucent/white litter may impact LitterLevel and Drawer Full Indicator accuracy. Lightweight litters such as corn or wheat 'may not pass through the screen effectively'. Do not work: strictly absorbent, non-clumping or loose-clumping, newspaper-based, pine-based, and absorbent wood pellet litter. Manual | YesSupported | Not rec.Not recommended by manufacturer | —Manufacturer does not state | Cond.Supported with conditions | NoNot supported | NoNot supported |
Whisker Litter-Robot 5Quoted evidenceMANUAL (outranks product page, and resolves the conflict between the LR5 and LR5 Pro product pages): 'Never put anything in the unit other than clumping litter or litter beads and crystals that are small enough to pass through the screen. Translucent or white-colored litter (most often seen in crystal litter) may impact the LitterLevel and Drawer Full Indicator (DFI) accuracy.' Manual | YesSupported | NoNot supported | —Manufacturer does not state | Cond.Supported with conditions | NoNot supported | NoNot supported |
Whisker Litter-Robot 5 ProQuoted evidenceMANUAL (outranks product page, and resolves the conflict between the LR5 and LR5 Pro product pages): 'Never put anything in the unit other than clumping litter or litter beads and crystals that are small enough to pass through the screen. Translucent or white-colored litter (most often seen in crystal litter) may impact the LitterLevel and Drawer Full Indicator (DFI) accuracy.' Manual | YesSupported | NoNot supported | —Manufacturer does not state | Cond.Supported with conditions | NoNot supported | NoNot supported |
Whisker Litter-Robot EVOQuoted evidenceMANUAL: clumping litter, or beads and crystals small enough to pass through the screen; translucent/white litter may impact Drawer Full Indicator accuracy. 'DO NOT use litters that are strictly absorbent, non-clumping, loose-clumping, newspaper-based, or wood-based pellets.' Manual | YesSupported | NoNot supported | —Manufacturer does not state | Cond.Supported with conditions | NoNot supported | NoNot supported |
Absence as a finding
The budget tier publishes almost nothing
15 of the 16 budget and legacy records in this index carry no manufacturer litter guidance at all. Publishing a grid of dashes for them would imply we had looked and found ambiguity. We looked and found nothing published.
Those products account for a large share of the units sold in this category. If you buy one, the manufacturer is unlikely to tell you which litter it can handle. The full evidence →