Whisker

Litter-Robot 5 Pro

rotating globe, sifting

$600+ 90% documented 5/6 litter types stated

The short version

Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro uses a rotating globe, sifting mechanism. The manufacturer states it takes clumping clay litter and excludes tofu, pine pellet and other pellet. It is stated for cats up to 30 lb by the manufacturer. 1 of the 6 questions buyers most often ask is not answered anywhere in the manufacturer's own material.

Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro — AI-assisted editorial representation, not a photograph
AI-assisted editorial representation, composed by PURRINDEX from documented product characteristics and official visual reference. Not manufacturer photography.
From documented evidence only

Who this appears to fit

Good fit if…

  • You use clumping clay litter — the manufacturer's manual states this is supported
  • Your heaviest cat is under 30 lb — the stated maximum according to the manufacturer
  • You want to try it before committing — the manufacturer documents a 90-day trial

Not a documented fit if…

  • You use tofu, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it
  • Your cat is over 30 lb — the manufacturer states that as the maximum

Each line above is derived from a value the manufacturer published; the source is shown against that value in the evidence table below. PURRINDEX draws no conclusion from a field a manufacturer left blank.

What sets this one apart

Key documented differences

  • Crystal litter is supported only under stated conditions
  • Entry sits 15.1 in from the floor, which matters for kittens, senior or arthritic cats
  • Needs a 22 × 27.25 in floor area (600 sq in)
  • Some features are subscription-gated: Whisker+ gates facial recognition, unlimited streaming, 2-yr history
  • Uses brand-specific consumables (waste drawer liners, carbon filters, OdorTrap packs)
  • App-connected: Whisker app; free tier + Whisker+ subscription
  • Documented 12-month warranty
What the manufacturer states

Litter compatibility

Litter typeWhat the manufacturer states
Clumping clayYesSupported
TofuNoNot supported
MixedManufacturer does not state
CrystalCond.Supported with conditions
Pine pelletNoNot supported
Other pelletNoNot supported
MANUAL (outranks product page, and resolves the conflict between the LR5 and LR5 Pro product pages): 'Never put anything in the unit other than clumping litter or litter beads and crystals that are small enough to pass through the screen. Translucent or white-colored litter (most often seen in crystal litter) may impact the LitterLevel and Drawer Full Indicator (DFI) accuracy.'
Manual https://www.litter-robot.com/manual_pdf/Litter-Robot-5-Manual.pdf
Stated by the manufacturer

Important restrictions

  • Kittens: kittens under 3 lb: semi-automatic mode
Original PURRINDEX drawings

Dimensions & footprint

FRONTSIDEentry 15.1″29.5″22.0″27.25″12″
22.0″ wide27.25″ deepgrid = 12″ · footprint 600 sq in

Drawn to scale by PURRINDEX from the published dimensions below. An original drawing, not a product likeness and not manufacturer artwork.

Factual list, not a score

Documented mechanisms

  • laser (Omnisense)
  • weight sensors
  • anti-obstruction
  • SafeCat System

These are the mechanisms the manufacturer documents. PURRINDEX does not rank or score safety, and the number of listed mechanisms is not a measure of anything. Manufacturer

Known unknowns

What the manufacturer does not state

  • The manufacturer does not publish a waste capacity

Absence of documentation is not evidence of a shortcoming in the product. It is a statement about what you can and cannot find out before buying.

Same decision

Compare with the closest alternatives

Chosen by documented similarity — price band, form factor and the litter types each manufacturer states. Never by what a merchant pays.

Product image: AI-assisted editorial representation, composed by PURRINDEX from documented product characteristics and official visual reference. Not manufacturer photography.

Whisker

Litter-Robot 5

$600+
  • You use clumping clay litter — the manufacturer's manual states this is supported
  • Your heaviest cat is under 30 lb — the stated maximum according to the manufacturer
  • Entry sits 15.1 in from the floor, which matters for kittens, senior or arthritic cats

You use tofu, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

83% documented
View product

Product image: AI-assisted editorial representation, composed by PURRINDEX from documented product characteristics and official visual reference. Not manufacturer photography.

Whisker

Litter-Robot 4

$600+
  • You use clumping clay litter — the manufacturer's manual states this is supported
  • Your heaviest cat is under 25 lb — the stated maximum according to the manufacturer
  • Entry sits 12 in from the floor, which matters for kittens, senior or arthritic cats

You use tofu, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

83% documented
View product

Product image: AI-assisted editorial representation, composed by PURRINDEX from documented product characteristics and official visual reference. Not manufacturer photography.

Whisker

Litter-Robot EVO

$400–600
  • You use clumping clay litter — the manufacturer's manual states this is supported
  • Your heaviest cat is under 19 lb — the stated maximum according to the manufacturer
  • Entry sits 10.75 in from the floor, which matters for kittens, senior or arthritic cats

You use tofu, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

80% documented
View product
Commercial layer

Buying options

Buying options

PURRINDEX chooses the product first. Where you buy it is resolved afterwards and never affects what this site recommends — how that is enforced.

  • Whisker directImpact · not appliedCheck availability
  • AmazonAmazon Associates · not appliedCheck availability

PURRINDEX has not joined an affiliate programme yet, so these destinations carry no outbound link rather than a placeholder one. No live prices and no retailer ratings are shown anywhere on this site.

Every value carries its source

Full evidence

Manufacturer list price
$899.00
Manufacturer
Evidence for list price
Value
899.0
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01

Physical

Exterior height
29.5 in
Conflicting
Evidence for exterior height
Value
29.5
Source
https://www.litter-robot.com/manual_pdf/Litter-Robot-5-Manual.pdf (Whisker Litter-Robot 5 instru
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Conflict
Manufacturer manual (M1) says 29.50 in; Manufacturer product page (M2) says 29.9 in
Ruling
Publish 29.50 in; show both — The manual is the engineering document and sits above the marketing page in the source hierarchy. The 0.4 in difference is immaterial to a buyer but must not be silently averaged.
Exterior width
22.0 in
Manual
Evidence for exterior width
Value
22.0
Source
https://www.litter-robot.com/manual_pdf/Litter-Robot-5-Manual.pdf (Whisker Litter-Robot 5 instru
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Exterior depth
27.25 in
Manual
Evidence for exterior depth
Value
27.25
Source
https://www.litter-robot.com/manual_pdf/Litter-Robot-5-Manual.pdf (Whisker Litter-Robot 5 instru
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Unit weight
28.7-29.6 lbs (manual gives a single range covering both LR5 and LR5 Pro)
Manual
Evidence for unit weight
Value
28.7-29.6 lbs (manual gives a single range covering both LR5 and LR5 Pro)
Source
https://www.litter-robot.com/manual_pdf/Litter-Robot-5-Manual.pdf (Whisker Litter-Robot 5 instru
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Clearance requirement
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Entry & interior

Entry opening
15.75 x 15.75
Manual
Evidence for entry opening
Value
15.75 x 15.75
Source
https://www.litter-robot.com/manual_pdf/Litter-Robot-5-Manual.pdf (Whisker Litter-Robot 5 instru
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Entry height from floor
15.1 in
Manual
Evidence for entry height from floor
Value
15.1
Source
https://www.litter-robot.com/manual_pdf/Litter-Robot-5-Manual.pdf (Whisker Litter-Robot 5 instru
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Note
manual: 'Floor to Entryway 15.10 in'; floor to step 7.00 in, step to entryway 5.80 in
Interior dimensions
inside globe 15-19 in high (depending on litter level) x 19.00 in x 18.00 in
Manual
Evidence for interior dimensions
Value
inside globe 15-19 in high (depending on litter level) x 19.00 in x 18.00 in
Source
https://www.litter-robot.com/manual_pdf/Litter-Robot-5-Manual.pdf (Whisker Litter-Robot 5 instru
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Litter bed
14.00 x 14.00 in
Manual
Evidence for litter bed
Value
14.00 x 14.00 in
Source
https://www.litter-robot.com/manual_pdf/Litter-Robot-5-Manual.pdf (Whisker Litter-Robot 5 instru
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01

Stated cat limits

Minimum cat weight
3 lb
Manufacturer
Evidence for minimum cat weight
Value
3
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Maximum cat weight
30 lb
Manufacturer
Evidence for maximum cat weight
Value
30
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Stated maximum cats
5
Manufacturer
Evidence for stated maximum cats
Value
5
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Kitten restriction
kittens under 3 lb: semi-automatic mode
Manufacturer
Evidence for kitten restriction
Value
kittens under 3 lb: semi-automatic mode
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01

Waste handling

Waste capacity
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Stated waste interval
up to 10 days, 1-cat household
Manufacturer
Evidence for stated waste interval
Value
up to 10 days, 1-cat household
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Waste drawer
5.50 x 13.50 x 11.20 in
Manual
Evidence for waste drawer
Value
5.50 x 13.50 x 11.20 in
Source
https://www.litter-robot.com/manual_pdf/Litter-Robot-5-Manual.pdf (Whisker Litter-Robot 5 instru
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Cycle delay
3-30 min, customizable
Manufacturer
Evidence for cycle delay
Value
3-30 min, customizable
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01

Automation & connectivity

Cleaning mechanism
rotating globe, sifting
Manufacturer
Evidence for cleaning mechanism
Value
rotating globe, sifting
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Power
15 V DC
Manufacturer
Evidence for power
Value
15 V DC
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Wi-Fi
2.4 / 5 GHz
Manufacturer
Evidence for wi-fi
Value
2.4 / 5 GHz
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
App
Whisker app; free tier + Whisker+ subscription
Manufacturer
Evidence for app
Value
Whisker app; free tier + Whisker+ subscription
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Weight tracking
Yes
Manufacturer
Evidence for weight tracking
Value
True
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Cat identification
AI facial recognition (Whisker+ subscription) + weight
Manufacturer
Evidence for cat identification
Value
AI facial recognition (Whisker+ subscription) + weight
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Notifications
real-time updates
Manufacturer
Evidence for notifications
Value
real-time updates
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Camera field of view
160 deg diagonal / 136 deg horizontal / 77 deg vertical (Pro model only)
Manual
Evidence for camera field of view
Value
160 deg diagonal / 136 deg horizontal / 77 deg vertical (Pro model only)
Source
https://www.litter-robot.com/manual_pdf/Litter-Robot-5-Manual.pdf (Whisker Litter-Robot 5 instru
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Cycle interruption
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Ownership

Proprietary consumables
waste drawer liners, carbon filters, OdorTrap packs
Manufacturer
Evidence for proprietary consumables
Value
['waste drawer liners', 'carbon filters', 'OdorTrap packs']
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Subscription-gated features
Whisker+ gates facial recognition, unlimited streaming, 2-yr history
Manufacturer
Evidence for subscription-gated features
Value
Whisker+ gates facial recognition, unlimited streaming, 2-yr history
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Warranty
12 months
Manufacturer
Evidence for warranty
Value
12
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Trial period
90 days
Manufacturer
Evidence for trial period
Value
90
Source
https://www.whisker.com/litter-robot-5-pro
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01