PetSafe

ScoopFree SmartSpin

rotating sift into sealed drawer

$250–400 50% documented 4/6 litter types stated

The short version

PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin uses a rotating sift into sealed drawer mechanism. The manufacturer states it takes clumping clay litter and excludes tofu and other pellet. It is stated for cats up to 25 lb by the manufacturer. 1 of the 6 questions buyers most often ask is not answered anywhere in the manufacturer's own material.

PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin — AI-assisted editorial representation, not a photograph
AI-assisted editorial representation, composed by PURRINDEX from documented product characteristics and official visual reference. Not manufacturer photography.
From documented evidence only

Who this appears to fit

Good fit if…

  • You use clumping clay litter — the manufacturer's manual states this is supported
  • Your heaviest cat is under 25 lb — the stated maximum according to the manufacturer
  • You want to try it before committing — the manufacturer documents a 45-day trial

Not a documented fit if…

  • You use tofu and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it
  • Your cat is over 25 lb — the manufacturer states that as the maximum

Each line above is derived from a value the manufacturer published; the source is shown against that value in the evidence table below. PURRINDEX draws no conclusion from a field a manufacturer left blank.

What sets this one apart

Key documented differences

  • Crystal litter is supported only under stated conditions
  • Uses brand-specific consumables (waste bin liners, deodorizer packs)
  • Documented 6 L waste capacity
  • App-connected: PetSafe Pet Companion app
What the manufacturer states

Litter compatibility

Litter typeWhat the manufacturer states
Clumping clayYesSupported
TofuNot rec.Not recommended by manufacturer
MixedManufacturer does not state
CrystalCond.Supported with conditions
Pine pelletManufacturer does not state
Other pelletNot rec.Not recommended by manufacturer
MANUAL (outranks the product page's blanket 'compatible with any litter'): 'Litter with larger pellets, such as tofu litter, may not be compatible with the litter box.' Litter must not be filled beyond the MAX fill line.
Manual https://cdn.sanity.io/files/d075r9p6/production/cf8710e7a43fdf462cbeb47ef6f07a74
Stated by the manufacturer

Important restrictions

  • Kittens: 'If you have a kitten, leave the litter box unplugged (or turn off the Auto clean feature in the app) and scoop waste manually until she is at least 2.5 pounds (1.1 kg) and 6 months old.'
Original PURRINDEX drawings

Dimensions & footprint

PHYSICAL0/5ENTRY & INTERIOR1/4STATED CAT LIMIT3/4WASTE HANDLING2/4AUTOMATION & CON6/9OWNERSHIP3/4no exterior dimensions published · documentation map

No exterior dimensions are published for this product, so PURRINDEX draws its documentation instead: each dot is a tracked field, filled where a value is stated.

Factual list, not a score

Documented mechanisms

  • weight sensor (cat presence)
  • cat-entry detection at a weight change greater than 2.5 lb (1.1 kg)
  • cleaning cycle starts only after the cat leaves

These are the mechanisms the manufacturer documents. PURRINDEX does not rank or score safety, and the number of listed mechanisms is not a measure of anything. Manual

Known unknowns

What the manufacturer does not state

  • The manufacturer does not publish interior dimensions

Absence of documentation is not evidence of a shortcoming in the product. It is a statement about what you can and cannot find out before buying.

Same decision

Compare with the closest alternatives

Chosen by documented similarity — price band, form factor and the litter types each manufacturer states. Never by what a merchant pays.

CATLINK

Scooper Young Pro-X

$250–400
  • You use clumping clay litter — the manufacturer states this is supported
  • Your heaviest cat is under 22 lb — the stated maximum according to the manufacturer
  • Entry sits 14 in from the floor, which matters for kittens, senior or arthritic cats

You use tofu, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

47% documented
View product

Product image: AI-assisted editorial representation, composed by PURRINDEX from documented product characteristics and official visual reference. Not manufacturer photography.

Whisker

Litter-Robot 4

$600+
  • You use clumping clay litter — the manufacturer's manual states this is supported
  • Your heaviest cat is under 25 lb — the stated maximum according to the manufacturer
  • Entry sits 12 in from the floor, which matters for kittens, senior or arthritic cats

You use tofu, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

83% documented
View product
Commercial layer

Buying options

Buying options

PURRINDEX chooses the product first. Where you buy it is resolved afterwards and never affects what this site recommends — how that is enforced.

  • PetSafe directPepperjam / Ascend · not appliedCheck availability
  • AmazonAmazon Associates · not appliedCheck availability

PURRINDEX has not joined an affiliate programme yet, so these destinations carry no outbound link rather than a placeholder one. No live prices and no retailer ratings are shown anywhere on this site.

Every value carries its source

Full evidence

Manufacturer list price
$359.99
Manufacturer
Evidence for list price
Value
359.99
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-smartspin-self-cleaning-litter-box/PAL00-17985/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01

Physical

Exterior height
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Exterior width
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Exterior depth
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Unit weight
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Clearance requirement
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Entry & interior

Entry opening
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Entry height from floor
'just 12 in. from the ground' (unit height above floor, not a measured entry aperture)
Manufacturer
Evidence for entry height from floor
Value
'just 12 in. from the ground' (unit height above floor, not a measured entry aperture)
Source
https://support.petsafe.net/product-support/scoopfree-smartspin-self-cleaning-litter-box/
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01
Interior dimensions
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Litter bed
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Stated cat limits

Minimum cat weight
2.5 lb
Manual
Evidence for minimum cat weight
Value
2.5
Source
https://cdn.sanity.io/files/d075r9p6/production/cf8710e7a43fdf462cbeb47ef6f07a74f41778c8.pdf (Pe
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01
Note
derived from the manual's kitten instruction, which is the only minimum PetSafe states
Maximum cat weight
25 lb
Manufacturer
Evidence for maximum cat weight
Value
25
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-smartspin-self-cleaning-litter-box/PAL00-17985/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Stated maximum cats
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Kitten restriction
MANUAL: 'If you have a kitten, leave the litter box unplugged (or turn off the Auto clean feature in the app) and scoop waste manually until she is at least 2.5 pounds (1.1 kg) and 6 months old.'
Manual
Evidence for kitten restriction
Value
MANUAL: 'If you have a kitten, leave the litter box unplugged (or turn off the Auto clean feature in the app) and scoop waste manually until she is at least 2.5 pounds (1.1 kg) and 6 months old.'
Source
https://cdn.sanity.io/files/d075r9p6/production/cf8710e7a43fdf462cbeb47ef6f07a74f41778c8.pdf (Pe
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01

Waste handling

Waste capacity
6 L
Manufacturer
Evidence for waste capacity
Value
6
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-smartspin-self-cleaning-litter-box/PAL00-17985/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Stated waste interval
up to 2 weeks
Manufacturer
Evidence for stated waste interval
Value
up to 2 weeks
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-smartspin-self-cleaning-litter-box/PAL00-17985/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Waste drawer
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Cycle delay
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Automation & connectivity

Cleaning mechanism
rotating sift into sealed drawer
Manufacturer
Evidence for cleaning mechanism
Value
rotating sift into sealed drawer
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-smartspin-self-cleaning-litter-box/PAL00-17985/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Power
plug-in adaptor included
Manufacturer
Evidence for power
Value
plug-in adaptor included
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-smartspin-self-cleaning-litter-box/PAL00-17985/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Wi-Fi
2.4 GHz
Manual
Evidence for wi-fi
Value
2.4 GHz
Source
https://cdn.sanity.io/files/d075r9p6/production/cf8710e7a43fdf462cbeb47ef6f07a74f41778c8.pdf (Pe
Source type
Manufacturer manual (M1)
Captured
2026-09-01
App
PetSafe Pet Companion app
Manufacturer
Evidence for app
Value
PetSafe Pet Companion app
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-smartspin-self-cleaning-litter-box/PAL00-17985/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Weight tracking
Yes
Manufacturer
Evidence for weight tracking
Value
True
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-smartspin-self-cleaning-litter-box/PAL00-17985/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Cat identification
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Notifications
real-time updates and alerts
Manufacturer
Evidence for notifications
Value
real-time updates and alerts
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-smartspin-self-cleaning-litter-box/PAL00-17985/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Camera field of view
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Cycle interruption
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Ownership

Proprietary consumables
waste bin liners, deodorizer packs
Manufacturer
Evidence for proprietary consumables
Value
['waste bin liners', 'deodorizer packs']
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-smartspin-self-cleaning-litter-box/PAL00-17985/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Subscription-gated features
none stated; PetSafe advertises app health data with no subscription
Manufacturer
Evidence for subscription-gated features
Value
none stated; PetSafe advertises app health data with no subscription
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-smartspin-self-cleaning-litter-box/PAL00-17985/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Warranty
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Trial period
45 days
Manufacturer
Evidence for trial period
Value
45
Source
https://www.petsafe.com/p/scoopfree-smartspin-self-cleaning-litter-box/PAL00-17985/
Source type
Manufacturer product page (M2)
Captured
2026-09-01
Note
45-day satisfaction guarantee, not a warranty term