Comparison
ScoopFree SmartSpin vs ScoopFree OpenSky
17 of 30 tracked fields differ or are documented for only one of the two. Highlighted rows are the differences.

PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin · 50% documented

PetSafe ScoopFree OpenSky · 60% documented
Litter compatibility
| Litter | ScoopFree SmartSpin | ScoopFree OpenSky |
|---|---|---|
| Clumping clay | YesSupported | YesSupported |
| Tofu | Not rec.Not recommended by manufacturer | Not rec.Not recommended by manufacturer |
| Mixed | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state |
| Crystal | Cond.Supported with conditions | NoNot supported |
| Pine pellet | —Manufacturer does not state | Not rec.Not recommended by manufacturer |
| Other pellet | Not rec.Not recommended by manufacturer | Not rec.Not recommended by manufacturer |
Differences highlighted
Specifications
| Field | ScoopFree SmartSpin | ScoopFree OpenSky |
|---|---|---|
| Physical | ||
| Exterior height | Not stated Not stated | 24.0 in Manufacturer |
| Exterior width | Not stated Not stated | 20.0 in Manufacturer |
| Exterior depth | Not stated Not stated | 18.8 in Manufacturer |
| Unit weight | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated |
| Clearance requirement | Not stated Not stated | MANUAL: 'Make sure the litter box is at least 2 inches (5 cm) away from any walls or other objects.' Manual |
| Entry & interior | ||
| Entry opening | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated |
| Entry height from floor | 'just 12 in. from the ground' (unit height above floor, not a measured entry aperture) Manufacturer | Not stated Not stated |
| Interior dimensions | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated |
| Litter bed | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated |
| Stated cat limits | ||
| Minimum cat weight | 2.5 lb Manual | 3.0 lb Manual |
| Maximum cat weight | 25 lb Manufacturer | 33 lb Manufacturer |
| Stated maximum cats | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated |
| Kitten restriction | MANUAL: 'If you have a kitten, leave the litter box unplugged (or turn off the Auto clean feature in the app) and scoop waste manually until she is at least 2.5 pounds (1.1 kg) and 6 months old.' Manual | MANUAL: 'Leave the litter box unplugged and scoop waste manually (or turn off the Auto Clean feature in the app) until your kitten is at least 3 pounds (1.5 kg) and 6 months old.' Manual |
| Waste handling | ||
| Waste capacity | 6 L Manufacturer | 8.5 L Manufacturer |
| Stated waste interval | up to 2 weeks Manufacturer | up to 2 weeks, 1 cat Manufacturer |
| Waste drawer | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated |
| Cycle delay | Not stated Not stated | 1-60 min countdown, app-configurable Manufacturer |
| Automation & connectivity | ||
| Cleaning mechanism | rotating sift into sealed drawer Manufacturer | open-top rake/sift, litter redistributed Manufacturer |
| Power | plug-in adaptor included Manufacturer | plug-in adaptor included Manufacturer |
| Wi-Fi | 2.4 GHz Manual | 2.4 GHz Manufacturer |
| App | PetSafe Pet Companion app Manufacturer | PetSafe app; real-time tracking, weight trends Manufacturer |
| Weight tracking | Yes Manufacturer | Yes Manufacturer |
| Cat identification | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated |
| Notifications | real-time updates and alerts Manufacturer | Not stated Not stated |
| Camera field of view | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated |
| Cycle interruption | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated |
| Ownership | ||
| Proprietary consumables | waste bin liners, deodorizer packs Manufacturer | waste bin liners (model-specific SKU) Manufacturer |
| Subscription-gated features | none stated; PetSafe advertises app health data with no subscription Manufacturer | Not stated Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated Not stated | 12 months Manual |
| Trial period | 45 days Manufacturer | 45 days Manufacturer |