CatGenie

CatGenie A.I.

washable permanent granules; washes, sanitises with SaniSolution, flushes liquid waste to drain, hot-air dries

$400–600 47% documented 6/6 litter types stated

The short version

CatGenie CatGenie A.I. uses a washable permanent granules; washes, sanitises with sanisolution, flushes liquid waste to drain, hot-air dries mechanism. The manufacturer excludes clumping clay, tofu, mixed, crystal, pine pellet and other pellet litter and states no supported type. 1 of the 6 questions buyers most often ask is not answered anywhere in the manufacturer's own material.

FRONTSIDE21.0″19.25″24.5″12″
From documented evidence only

Who this appears to fit

Good fit if…

Nothing in this manufacturer's documentation supports a specific fit claim.

Not a documented fit if…

  • You use clumping clay, tofu, mixed, crystal, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

Each line above is derived from a value the manufacturer published; the source is shown against that value in the evidence table below. PURRINDEX draws no conclusion from a field a manufacturer left blank.

What sets this one apart

Key documented differences

  • Needs a 19.25 × 24.5 in floor area (472 sq in)
  • Uses brand-specific consumables (Washable Granules, SaniSolution cartridge (120 cycles standard mode, 240 in cat-activation mode))
  • App-connected: CatGenie app with usage diary
  • Documented 24-month warranty
What the manufacturer states

Litter compatibility

Litter typeWhat the manufacturer states
Clumping clayNoNot supported
TofuNoNot supported
MixedNoNot supported
CrystalNoNot supported
Pine pelletNoNot supported
Other pelletNoNot supported
'NEVER use cat litter in the CatGenie.' Requires proprietary Washable Granules only.
Manufacturer https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Stated by the manufacturer

Important restrictions

  • Kittens: kittens must be over six months old
Original PURRINDEX drawings

Dimensions & footprint

FRONTSIDE21.0″19.25″24.5″12″
19.25″ wide24.5″ deepgrid = 12″ · footprint 472 sq in

Drawn to scale by PURRINDEX from the published dimensions below. An original drawing, not a product likeness and not manufacturer artwork.

Factual list, not a score

Documented mechanisms

  • GenieEyes cat-presence detection blocks cycle start

These are the mechanisms the manufacturer documents. PURRINDEX does not rank or score safety, and the number of listed mechanisms is not a measure of anything. Manufacturer

Known unknowns

What the manufacturer does not state

  • The manufacturer does not publish an entry height

Absence of documentation is not evidence of a shortcoming in the product. It is a statement about what you can and cannot find out before buying.

Same decision

Compare with the closest alternatives

Chosen by documented similarity — price band, form factor and the litter types each manufacturer states. Never by what a merchant pays.

Casa Leo

Leo's Loo Too

$400–600
  • You use clumping clay litter — the manufacturer's manual states this is supported
  • Your heaviest cat is under 20 lb — the stated maximum according to the manufacturer
  • Documented 9.5 L waste capacity

You use tofu, mixed, crystal, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

30% documented
View product

Product image: AI-assisted editorial representation, composed by PURRINDEX from documented product characteristics and official visual reference. Not manufacturer photography.

Whisker

Litter-Robot EVO

$400–600
  • You use clumping clay litter — the manufacturer's manual states this is supported
  • Your heaviest cat is under 19 lb — the stated maximum according to the manufacturer
  • Entry sits 10.75 in from the floor, which matters for kittens, senior or arthritic cats

You use tofu, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

80% documented
View product

Product image: AI-assisted editorial representation, composed by PURRINDEX from documented product characteristics and official visual reference. Not manufacturer photography.

PetSafe

ScoopFree Crystal Pro

$150–250
  • You use crystal litter — the retail listing states this is supported
  • Uses brand-specific consumables (ScoopFree crystal litter trays (disposable or reusable))
  • Needs a 20 × 29 in floor area (580 sq in)

You use clumping clay, tofu, mixed, pine pellet and other pellet litter — the manufacturer excludes or advises against it

37% documented
View product
Commercial layer

Buying options

Buying options

PURRINDEX chooses the product first. Where you buy it is resolved afterwards and never affects what this site recommends — how that is enforced.

  • AmazonAmazon Associates · not appliedCheck availability

PURRINDEX has not joined an affiliate programme yet, so these destinations carry no outbound link rather than a placeholder one. No live prices and no retailer ratings are shown anywhere on this site.

Every value carries its source

Full evidence

Price band
$400–600
Band only
Why a band and not a price
The observed price came from a retail listing rather than the manufacturer. PURRINDEX shows a band in that case: retailer prices change constantly and we do not display live retail pricing or marketplace data.

Physical

Exterior height
21.0 in
Manufacturer
Evidence for exterior height
Value
21.0
Source
https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01
Exterior width
19.25 in
Manufacturer
Evidence for exterior width
Value
19.25
Source
https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01
Exterior depth
24.5 in
Manufacturer
Evidence for exterior depth
Value
24.5
Source
https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01
Unit weight
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Clearance requirement
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Entry & interior

Entry opening
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Entry height from floor
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Interior dimensions
interior width 19.25 in
Manufacturer
Evidence for interior dimensions
Value
interior width 19.25 in
Source
https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01
Litter bed
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Stated cat limits

Minimum cat weight
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Maximum cat weight
'no weight limit that would prohibit any cat'; recommended up to 20 lb per cat
Manufacturer
Evidence for maximum cat weight
Value
'no weight limit that would prohibit any cat'; recommended up to 20 lb per cat
Source
https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01
Stated maximum cats
2 recommended, 3 depending on temperament
Manufacturer
Evidence for stated maximum cats
Value
2 recommended, 3 depending on temperament
Source
https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01
Kitten restriction
kittens must be over six months old
Manufacturer
Evidence for kitten restriction
Value
kittens must be over six months old
Source
https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01

Waste handling

Waste capacity
n/a — no waste drawer; liquid waste to drain
Manufacturer
Evidence for waste capacity
Value
n/a — no waste drawer; liquid waste to drain
Source
https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01
Stated waste interval
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Waste drawer
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Cycle delay
5-40 min customisable after cat exits
Manufacturer
Evidence for cycle delay
Value
5-40 min customisable after cat exits
Source
https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01

Automation & connectivity

Cleaning mechanism
washable permanent granules; washes, sanitises with SaniSolution, flushes liquid waste to drain, hot-air dries
Manufacturer
Evidence for cleaning mechanism
Value
washable permanent granules; washes, sanitises with SaniSolution, flushes liquid waste to drain, hot-air dries
Source
https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01
Power
mains outlet required; also cold water supply and drain connection
Manufacturer
Evidence for power
Value
mains outlet required; also cold water supply and drain connection
Source
https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01
Wi-Fi
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
App
CatGenie app with usage diary
Manufacturer
Evidence for app
Value
CatGenie app with usage diary
Source
https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01
Weight tracking
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Cat identification
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Notifications
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Camera field of view
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Cycle interruption
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated

Ownership

Proprietary consumables
Washable Granules, SaniSolution cartridge (120 cycles standard mode, 240 in cat-activation mode)
Manufacturer
Evidence for proprietary consumables
Value
['Washable Granules', 'SaniSolution cartridge (120 cycles standard mode, 240 in cat-activation mode)']
Source
https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01
Subscription-gated features
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated
Warranty
24 months
Manufacturer
Evidence for warranty
Value
24
Source
https://www.catgenie.com/pages/faq-ai
Source type
Manufacturer support/FAQ (M3)
Captured
2026-09-01
Trial period
Manufacturer does not state
Not stated