Comparison
Litter-Robot 5 vs Litter-Robot 4
12 of 30 tracked fields differ or are documented for only one of the two. Highlighted rows are the differences.

Whisker Litter-Robot 5 · 83% documented

Whisker Litter-Robot 4 · 83% documented
Litter compatibility
| Litter | Litter-Robot 5 | Litter-Robot 4 |
|---|---|---|
| Clumping clay | YesSupported | YesSupported |
| Tofu | NoNot supported | Not rec.Not recommended by manufacturer |
| Mixed | —Manufacturer does not state | —Manufacturer does not state |
| Crystal | Cond.Supported with conditions | Cond.Supported with conditions |
| Pine pellet | NoNot supported | NoNot supported |
| Other pellet | NoNot supported | NoNot supported |
Differences highlighted
Specifications
| Field | Litter-Robot 5 | Litter-Robot 4 |
|---|---|---|
| Physical | ||
| Exterior height | 29.5 in Conflicting | 29.5 in Conflicting |
| Exterior width | 22.0 in Manual | 22.0 in Manufacturer |
| Exterior depth | 27.25 in Manual | 27.0 in Manufacturer |
| Unit weight | 28.7-29.6 lbs (manual gives a single range covering both LR5 and LR5 Pro) Manual | 24.0 lb Manufacturer |
| Clearance requirement | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated |
| Entry & interior | ||
| Entry opening | 15.75 x 15.75 Manual | 15.75 x 15.75 Manufacturer |
| Entry height from floor | 15.1 in Manual | 12.0 in Manual |
| Interior dimensions | inside globe 15-19 in high (depending on litter level) x 19.00 in x 18.00 in Manual | inside globe 15.7-16.9 in high (40-43 cm, depending on litter level) x 19.0 in x 18.0 in Manual |
| Litter bed | 14.00 x 14.00 in Manual | 14.0 x 14.0 in (35.5 x 35.5 cm) Manual |
| Stated cat limits | ||
| Minimum cat weight | 3 lb Manufacturer | 3 lb Manufacturer |
| Maximum cat weight | 30 lb Manufacturer | 25 lb Manufacturer |
| Stated maximum cats | 5 Manufacturer | 4 Manufacturer |
| Kitten restriction | kittens under 3 lb: semi-automatic mode Manufacturer | kittens under 3 lb require semi-automatic (unplugged) mode Manufacturer |
| Waste handling | ||
| Waste capacity | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated |
| Stated waste interval | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated |
| Waste drawer | 5.50 x 13.50 x 11.20 in Manual | 5.5 x 13.5 x 9.25 in (14 x 34.3 x 23.5 cm) Manual |
| Cycle delay | 3-30 min Manufacturer | 3-30 min, customizable Manufacturer |
| Automation & connectivity | ||
| Cleaning mechanism | rotating globe, sifting Manufacturer | rotating globe, sifting Manufacturer |
| Power | 15 V DC Manufacturer | 15 V DC Manufacturer |
| Wi-Fi | 2.4 GHz Manufacturer | 2.4 GHz Manufacturer |
| App | Whisker app; Whisker+ optional Manufacturer | Whisker app; Whisker+ optional Manufacturer |
| Weight tracking | Yes Manufacturer | Yes Manufacturer |
| Cat identification | weight-based Manufacturer | weight-based Manufacturer |
| Notifications | real-time updates Manufacturer | real-time updates Manufacturer |
| Camera field of view | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated |
| Cycle interruption | Not stated Not stated | Not stated Not stated |
| Ownership | ||
| Proprietary consumables | waste drawer liners, carbon filter, OdorTrap packs Manufacturer | waste drawer liners, carbon filters, OdorTrap packs Manufacturer |
| Subscription-gated features | Whisker+ gates trend history and recaps Manufacturer | Whisker+ gates recaps, 2-yr history, behavioural patterns Manufacturer |
| Warranty | 12 months Manufacturer | 12 months Manufacturer |
| Trial period | 90 days Manufacturer | 90 days Manufacturer |